Fall Quilts

As you may already have been able to tell, I’m horrible at starting projects without finishing others.  I can’t help it, I just get excited and carried away.  I have many more projects that I have planned to start, with no obvious clear end to the ones that are half-finished.  I should get on myself for this, as it is clearly a procrastination problem, especially with Christmas looming and it’d be nice to clear my table of ongoing work.  In the meantime, here’s a preview of some more of my recent quilts.

My mom made my sisters and I quilts when we were born.  I’ll probably take some pictures of the vintage quilts and post them later.  My quilt and my little sister’s quilt have stood up to wear and tear but my middle sister’s has not been so lucky.  It is in need of some repair and remaking.  I’ve already spent many hours attacking it with a seam ripper, and iron and some Woolite.  Sadly, one fabric entirely disintegrated but I’ve managed to find a lovely substitute.  I’ve decided to cut the cubes into smaller blocks and keep the diagonal pattern.

I have also mentioned that my little sister has graduated university and is moving away and starting the next big chapter of her life in a new city with her long time boyfriend.  I’ve started her graduation/going away/birthday gift that she and I picked out fabric for at Fabricland.  I should be finished this one this week (I have to; she’s leaving next weekend, yikes!).

Leave a Reply

