Blanket Project 2: Ponies

As soon as I saw this fleece I knew I had to grab it.  It’s blue, gray and best of all has ponies.   It also demonstrates a second way of finishing a fleece blanket: the straight stitch.

I started trying to stitch this blanket by hand, but I quickly learned that the stretchy properties of this pony fleece works far better with a nice uniform, tight machine stitch.  I curled the edges once, and then twice on themselves, so that the cut edge of the blanket is hidden and tucked under itself.  Then I pinned and stitched with white thread along the inner edge and finished with the outer edge and it looks great.

It adorns our matching blue loveseat, and matches nicely with the yellow painted walls and cream pillows.

Leave a Reply

