Western Projects

I’ve always had a fascination with horses.  For the longest time, this was held at bay by distance, inexperience and of course, finances. I’d gone to pony camp for a week as a kid, but growing up in the suburbs I was never really and truely exposed to the equestrian world other than what I’d read in books   As such, a few years ago after I finished college I started taking western style riding lessons and working at horse facilities in the winter to expand my animal care professional experience.  I’ll never look back, working with horses has changed my life.  It has also, inevitably, changed my art and I find myself inspired by these animals and the culture that surrounds them.

A blanket with western patterns I’ve been working on as a gift for my riding coach.

And here’s some fabric for a future project.

I’ve also been playing a lot of Red Dead Redemption lately.  There’s a lot of good things I can say about a cowboy game, particularly the bits with horses.  The physical controls of riding were much better in GUN… but I’ll just have to suffer.

Leave a Reply

