Quilts I’ve made

    I love quilting.  There I said it.  I’m a self taught hand-quilter (mostly due to not being able to afford a decent machine) thanks to the internet.  There’s a lot of great quilting blogs and websites with hints, tricks and tips to the point that I feel as though I’ve advanced from beginner to novice quilter status. 

    Below is a picture of a quilt that I made for my boyfriend’s brother’s wedding gift.  Each block was 3″x3″ totalling in a 9″-grid piece.  It was 10 panels x 12 panels with a 3″ piece border.  It fit a queen size bed, was huge, and took almost a year to make.  I mostly worked  on it in my quiet hours while watching tv with my boyfriend, so I have a witness to its handcraftedness.  I started to hate it a bit close to the end, but after I finished it finally I felt GREAT.  I used a powdered-yellow fine checkered pattern bedsheet for the underside.  Hopefully I can get a picture of it in use the next time we visit.

   

    This other blanket was a gift for my mom for Christmas to decorate our cottage.  I like to make cottage decorations.  They allow me to quilt rustic patterned fabrics of fun animal print and use colour schemes that I don’t otherwise have in my apartment.

    She liked it very much.  Please note the authentic cottagey moose, bear and fishes and how well the colours match with our nice pine cottage backdrop.  I hope to take more pictures of current and finished projects to display my enjoyment of this old, old hobby.

Leave a Reply

